About Me & My Blog

Welcome to the first post of the Poskett’s Blog!  My name is Pamela and I am the lady behind Poskett’s jewelry.  I plan on using this blog to showcase jewelry trends, feature the work of talented artisans, share my skills with step-by-step tutorials, write informative articles, and a variety of other fun things, like jewelry giveaways!!  To stay up to date on the latest posts from this blog and my shop, please subscribe!  To start things off, I thought I would interview myself for the first Featured Designer section.

Featured Designer Banner

Pamela from Poskett's

Hi!  My name is Pamela.  I am the owner & creator of Poskett’s jewelry and this blog!  I specialize in custom beaded & bead-woven jewelry that I handcraft in my sunny home studio in East Texas.  I greatly enjoy creating the perfect piece of jewelry for my customer, the challenge of custom design work and exploring new techniques.

How did you become interested in jewelry making?

I started making beaded jewelry when I was very young.  My first memory of visiting a bead shop was while visiting my maternal grandparents on San Juan Island in Washington State when I was 6 or 7.  I remember walking into the shop and being overwhelmed by streams of sparkling beads hanging down the walls and overflowing from little display cups.  It was thrilling to see the beauty of the beads infinite variety and the endless possibility that they held.  My mother let me pick out a few treasures.  I chose cobalt blue seed beads and a black pendant of frosted glass with an ankh on it, which I immediately made into a necklace.  It was an impressionable experience and I still feel that little jolt of excitement whenever I see rows upon rows of lovely beads.

Tell us about your experience opening an Etsy shop.

As an adult, my relationship with beads has been an on-again off-again fling.  I dabbled with beads every once in a while during my undergraduate years, but found I had very little time for hobbies.  The same proved true during law school but even more so.  Beading completely fell by the wayside for me and it wasn’t until after I had passed the bar exam that I found beading again.

The Lillian BraceletIn autumn of 2009, I decided that I wanted to do a handmade Christmas.  After scouring the internet for ideas, I decided to teach myself how to bead weave in order to make crystal bracelets for my female relatives.  These initial bracelets eventually became my Lillian Bracelet design.  After lots of practice and receiving loads of compliments from the recipients and my friends (and with lots of encouragement from my wonderful boyfriend) I decided to open up my Etsy shop!

Poskett’s has undergone a lot of changes since its inception in November 2010, including multiple stand-alone websites, product line expansion and subsequent shrinkage, name changes and more.  And while I am sure that I will enact more changes in the future, I am currently (and finally) happy with the shop that I have created.

What type of jewelry products do you carry in your Etsy shop?

Ice BraceletsI presently have two collections in my Etsy shop: The Ice Collection & The Satin Collection.  Ice features Swarovski Crystals while Satin showcases Swarovski Pearls.  Designs in both collections are made using a variety of beadwork and bead-weaving techniques, along with a bit of wire-wrapping.  I have created my designs with versatility in mind.  Each piece of jewelry I make will look incredible with evening and business attire and will look great with casual outfits as well.  I also have a handful of one-of-a-kind earrings designs currently in the Etsy shop.

What inspires your work?

Symmetry and geometry inspire my designs.  I like things to be symmetrical, even, orderly; it’s just my preference.  Bead-weaving, a technique used in the majority of my designs, utilizes a lot of geometry in the creation of patterns and how the beads fit together.  This geometry allows me to create symmetrical designs and I often incorporate shapes into my work, like circle, crosses and diamonds.

Lovely bride wearing Katerina Bracelet & Earrings.

Who is your ideal customer?

My ideal customer is someone who appreciates quality craftsmanship and is looking for a perfect, custom piece.  This dream customer is looking for jewelry with clean lines and minimalist aesthetic while still wanting glamour and sparkle!

What advice would you give to someone looking to start their own jewelry business?

Take the time to plan before you start.  Plan well!  There is always a measure of ‘learning on the fly’ when you have your own business.  However, if you spend enough time planning and preparing, your learning curve will be much shallower and ultimately easier.

When you aren’t making jewelry, what are you doing?

Professionally, I am an attorney, currently specializing in e-Discovery services.  When I’m not doing the “whole lawyer thing”, I enjoy reading history books & novels, creative writing, watching awesome movies with my awesome boyfriend, researching my family heritage, keeping fit & healthy and working on non-jewelry related crafting projects.  This year I would like to grow some tomatoes and basil on my balcony so I can make fresh, homegrown soup!

Leave a Reply

